Announcements

Summer Reading Program Underway

Keep your kids reading this summer and help promote literacy in our community. Open to all ages. Sign up today!

Sheboygan Country LGBTQ Alliance Book Club

Primary tabs

Program Type:

Book Club

Age Group:

Teen , Adult

Program Description

Event Details

Join the Sheboygan County LGBTQ Alliance for a book discussion series brought to you in partnership with Mead Library highlighting the diversity of the LGBTQIA+ community. Each month a different book covering a unique perspective on the queer experience will prompt deep, thought-provoking, and inspiring conversations for people who identify as LGBTQIA+ and straight allies alike. And if you don't know how you identify, but have a good faith desire to learn with curiosity and humility- we welcome you too. Join us for this facilitated book club that celebrates and explores queer life, love, and liberation. Books and discussions in this club may contain mature themes and language. 

Here's the Summer/Fall lineup. Click the book titles to see a brief description:

Pet Book Cover

June 2: The Secret to Superhuman Strength (2021) by Alison Bechdel

July 7: Pet (2019) by Awkaeke Emizi

A thought-provoking and haunting novel about a creature that escapes from an artist's canvas, whose talent is sniffing out monsters in a world that claims they don't exist anymore. Perfect for fans of Akata Witch and Shadowshaper .

There are no monsters anymore, or so the children in the city of Lucille are taught. Jam and her best friend, Redemption, have grown up with this lesson all their life. But when Jam meets Pet, a creature made of horns and colors and claws, who emerges from one of her mother's paintings and a drop of Jam's blood, she must reconsider what she's been told. Pet has come to hunt a monster--and the shadow of something grim lurks in Redemption's house. Jam must fight not only to protect her best friend, but also uncover the truth, and the answer to the question How do you save the world from monsters if no one will admit they exist?

In their riveting and timely young adult debut, acclaimed novelist Akwaeke Emezi asks difficult questions about what choices you can make when the society around you is in denial.


August 4: The Art of Fielding (2011) by Chad Harbach
September 1: The One You Want to Marry (And Other Identities I've Had): A Memoir (2021) by Sophie Santos
October 6: More Happy Than Not (2015) by Adam Silvera
November 3: Gender Queer: A Memoir (2019) by Maia Kobabe

Each title is available at the first floor desk of Mead Library one month in advance of discussion.