Fines and Fees
All library material is assessed an overdue fee of $.10 per item per day up to a maximum of $2.00 per item. A late charge is calculated starting the first day an item is overdue, but the late charges will be cancelled if you return the item within 5 days of the due date (the "grace period"). Beginning the sixth day after the due date, however, you will owe late charges for all 6 days, plus any additional days the item is late.
You must return library materials within 5 days of the due date. Materials must be returned before the library closes on that day. Materials returned after the library closes will be removed from your account on the next day that the library opens and late charges may apply.
There is a fee charged for returns of mismatched or incomplete items, for example, audiobooks missing one CD or toys that are missing parts.
For your convenience you may return materials to other public libraries in Dodge, Ozaukee, Sheboygan and Washington counties or to the bookmobile. You may also return materials to most public and university libraries elsewhere in Wisconsin for transport to Mead via the state library delivery service. However, it may take a week or more for materials to reach us via the state delivery service and the due dates still apply.
|Adult Materials||For How Long|
|New fiction and nonfiction books||14 days|
|Older fiction books||28 days|
|Older nonfiction books||28 days|
|Newer audiobook titles||14 days|
|Compact Discs||7 days|
|Fiction books||28 days|
|Nonfiction books||28 days|
|Music CD||7 days|
|Books on CD||28 days|
|Book & CD||28 days|
When you apply for a library card you accept responsibility for returning borrowed materials on time and in the same condition in which you received them.
If you lose an item you will be billed for the cost of the item at the time it was purchased by the library. If lost items are kept past the regular due date late charges and other service charges will be assessed. If you find a lost item within 6 months of paying for it, the cost of the book will be reimbursed.
If you damage an item so seriously that it can no longer be used you will be billed for the price of the item at the time it was purchased by the library. Less serious damage will be billed according to a standard list of charges.
You must pay charges for lost and damaged materials before you can check out other materials.